Tag Archives: Deep House

AIMES – Can’t Get Enough (Free DL)

Our very own AIMES has just dropped a dance floor ready soulful house heater for free via his soundcloud. A slight detour from AIMES’ usual cosmic disco leaning’s, this track combines classic disco drums and percussion with modern house stabs and classic vocals. Head on over and grab the track for free, no strings attached.

Pole Jam – Various Artists – Lady Leopard EP

UK Nu Disco/ House label Pole Position Recordings has a vinyl only sister label called Pole Jam Vinyl who has recently dropped the previews for their upcoming various artist EP. The 12″ includes four tracks of delightful deep disco and honestly, every track is unique, intriguing, and made for the dance floor. Have a listen and snag the pre-order.

A1. Cassara – “Lady Leopard”
A2. Darko Kustura – “Peninsula”
B1. Cassara – “The Forest”
B2. Benny & Gain – “Approval”

Wonder Cast 005: Rhythm Operator

L.A. based house aficionado Calvin James aka Rhythm Operator has been making some serious waves the past few years with a list of releases on a seemingly who’s who of underground dance labels. He first caught our ear with a his soulful EP on Let’s Play House, which he quickly followed up with a super funky and old school leaning release on Axe on Wax. His style is reminiscent of the old school sampling techniques of DJ Sneak and Todd Edwards, taking a would be obscure sample and re-contextualizing it to fit his dance floor vision. We asked Calvin to contribute and Wonder Cast and he delivered in spades, delivering a mix of deep, soulful house. Enjoy!


Various Artist – Raw Axes Ep (Axe On Wax 004)

London based record label Axe On Wax has just released a compilation EP featuring a quartet of stunning old school themed house tracks. We are big fans of the label ever since they peaked our interest with a must have EP from the ever illusive Rhythm Operator. Raw Axes EP available 02/23/15 in digital and vinyl. Stream and pre-order here.

album art

A1. Cera Alba – Jux
A2. Cera Alba – Jux (Oli Furness Remix)
B1. Rosenhaft – Unplugged Vibez
B2. Rosenhaft – Unplugged Vibez  (Kindimmer’s Zen Remix)

Tornado Wallace – ‘Circadia’ EP

Lewie Day a.k.a Tornado Wallace follows up his 2013 ‘Thinking Allowed’ EP on ESP Institute with the beautifully produced 3-track ‘Circadia’ EP. The A-side is full of lush, soft 80’s vibes while the B-Side is a bit more on the house tip. Being a sucker for anything with a pan flute, I’ll definitely be playing this one out in my DJ sets.


Rhythm Operator – ‘Illuminate Your Soul’ EP

The ever illusive Rhythm Operator turns in a jazzed up and lush EP for Axe on Wax entitled “Illuminate Your Soul”. The bouncy and raw cuts throw back to the first (and actual) wave of ‘Deep House’ and would not be out of place in dark and muggy warehouse in the early 90s. Stripping things down even further, Liam Geddes rounds out the EP with a romper of a remix. Grab the free download of ‘Mind Wave’ via XLR8R here and purchase the vinyl here.